Is this Rude- or am being overly sensitive?

Older couple checked in yday. Women was lovely, friendly, chatty. However as I was showing the map, the husband wonders off, to shut my balcony door (Roughly i may add). He then lifts my laptop from the settee, shakes it in the air to ask if its mine! Yes, off course, I live here, i say.
Then when showing their bathroom, he takes no interest, but paces off again and tried to open my bedroom door and store room door! (Both are in rules that theyre out of bounds)! They are complete newbies, still I found him completely shameless! Wondering how to put it in the review- as the wifes lovely and its her profile? I did remind him about the rules, but he looked at me as if id 2 heads.

1 Like

This is absolutely dreadful manners by a guest!!! I have had people (almost always men) wander off while I am talking, which I find extremely rude… (you are renting my home and you can damn well listen to five minutes of orientation about the room!) but to pick up your personal laptop and shake it around!!! If it’s older, that could actually affect the hard drive. They Re spinning devices just like a phonograph of old. And then try to get into locked rooms… that is beyond the pale. He needs a bad review for that behavior. Does not matter if the wife was nice. Just makes me wonder what he did when you weren’t looking! How long do they stay?

2 Likes

This sounds like someone who is perhaps slightly autistic, and certainly someone who doesn’t have a sense of personal space. Since “rude” assumes intent, I probably wouldn’t use that word, but this is, without question, inappropriate behavior in someone else’s home.

3 Likes

I know K it was over the top. Theyre staying another night. Hes very eccentric!